Coming to Your House!

coming to your houseThis Sunday is Easter, the day we celebrate Jesus’ resurrection from the dead. It is a time of reflection, joy and renewal. It is also a time when many of us gather for a special meal either with family, friends or both. Jesus shared a meal with his friends before he offered up his life. He shared a meal later as well before he was taken up to heaven on the clouds.

In fact, Jesus shared meals with his friends and followers many times through his ministry. His first miracle was performed at a wedding. Twice he fed thousands of people with food that would have been sufficient for one. He ate with religious leaders and social outcasts.

We often thinking of him teaching on the hillsides or in the temple, we think of his miracles and debates with the Pharisees. Jesus like to eat. He liked to hang out with friends and relax. It is a part of him that we often forget.

I have written my own imagined account of the day he met Zacchaeus, the short tax collector. I am offering it free for this Easter weekend. In it, you can meet Jesus just days before his final triumphant entry into Jerusalem.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VB0PBR0

 

2 comments on “Coming to Your House!

  1. Erin Unger says:

    I love the cover, Kate. I never think of the times Jesus ate and relaxed with his friends. Thanks for reminding me that he wasn’t all work and no play, that there has to be a balance.

  2. Thanks! One of my favorite pictures I have seen of Jesus was a pen and ink of him laughing. It was drawn by an artist friend of my parents who drew her own Christmas card every year. We got that one when I was in high school and like you said, I never thought about Jesus as relaxing and having fun. I still have to remind myself to simply enjoy him.

Leave a Reply

