Let It Go!

I am sure that most of you have seen or heard of the movie Frozen one of Disney’s top producing movies of all time. I know my kids (including my sons) have been walking around and singing the incredibly popular song Let it Go for weeks. I would laugh at them singing with all the drama and intensity of a born rock star, my sixteen yr old son was the biggest culprit. I hadn’t seen the movie yet and only had a vague idea of what it was about.

I saw people commenting on Facebook about the song, many of them saying it promoted selfishness and doing what you want regardless of how it hurts others. My first thought was, Huh, that doesn’t sound like Disney. Their kids movies are usually pretty uplifting and positive. When I really listened to the song, it did seem to be selfish.

I don’t care what they’re going to say, let the storm rage on.

The cold never bothered me anyway.

Yeah, that sounds a bit like a kid saying, I don’t care what anyone says, I’m going to do it anyway.

Until I saw the movie.

Then I saw why Elsa sang that song. She had been raised to be ashamed of her gift. To be afraid. Hide it, don’t let yourself feel anything. Don’t let anyone see who you really are. To protect one daughter, the parents tortured the other. Not intentionally, but it happened. They locked Elsa in her room to hide her, and her power, from the world, and even her own sister.

What would it have been like to live like that?

Don’t let them in, Don’t let them see, Be the good girl you always have to be.

Conceal, Don’t feel, Don’t let them know,

Well, now they know.

Is it any wonder that once the secret came out, she rejoiced in it? She no longer had to hide. She no longer had to be ashamed. She was free to be who she really was.

It’s time to see what I can do, to test the limits and break through,

no right, no wrong, no rules for me,

I’m free.

She would rather live in isolation at the top of a cold mountain than return to a life imprisoned by fear. Can you blame her?

She did end up taking responsibility, and learned to control her power so that it became a blessing for her people. She learned the power of Love. And for once it was not romantic love, ‘true love’s first kiss’. This time the love was the unconditional love of Anna, Elsa’s sister, who gave her life to save Elsa from being killed. And this is after Elsa had struck the icy blow that was killing Anna.

Sound familiar?

“Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.” John 15:13

And Jesus did just that, he gave his life for the ones who took it. He gave it up for all of us.

In giving that gift, he gives us the gift of freedom from a life of bondage, of fear, of isolation. All we need to do is accept it.

We can Let it Go. All the fears and insecurities that have imprisoned us. All the false rules and strictures that society has laid upon us. (That doesn’t mean you can do whatever you want either, just saying.) We all have talents and gifts, we have all been created for a purpose. Once Jesus has loosed our chains and relieved us of the burden of sin, we are free to become all that God intended us to be.

Well, I didn’t mean to preach in this one, but I think there is a reason that this movie became so popular, and I am not sure it is the reason that Disney intended. We all want to be loved and accepted for who and what we are, and there is One who does just that.

Thank God!

 

 

2 comments on “Let It Go!

  1. medazmr says:

    I totally agree with you. I felt like Christians were being too hard about this song because they were taking it out of context. In the end, Elsa did the right thing and that’s the point. What a great post, Kate.

Leave a Reply

