Words, Words, Words

I made the decision to sign up for NaNoWriMo which for the uninitiated stands for National Novel Writing Month. It is a nation wide, even world wide, collection of people who promise to write 50,000 words during the month of November. I had never heard of it before a week ago although it has been happening for many years. A month ago I had stalled out on the book I was writing. I had finished the first section then went back to edit and rewrite so that I knew where I was headed with it. Apparently that was a big mistake. I got so bogged down in perfecting every word and every line that I had completely lost track of the story. I got discouraged, I lost interest. I was on the verge of giving up.

Then I heard about NaNo and thought to myself, “Self, that is what you need, a goal and a deadline. That is how we get things done.” So I took the plunge. Technically, NaNo is for those wanting to start a new book and write it from beginning to end. But 50,000 (with edits) is just about what I need to finish what I’m working on. So I’m doing it anyway. Next year, I will have one ready to start.

Now it is day four and I have just over 5,000 words written so far. I’m on track, even a little ahead. It is such a good feeling. I know that many of the words I am writing will end up in the recycle bin, certainly most of what I wrote yesterday, but hidden among the dross is the gold, and those precious gems that will carry the story along and make it shine. They are rough and unformed, the gold is impure, but I am forcing myself not to go back and fix it. Not yet. Once I get it written, when the 50,000 words are on the screen and added to what I already have, then I will begin to write and rewrite and edit and refine. Then maybe, just maybe, I will have a book to be proud of, a book that can be read and enjoyed my hundreds, dare I say thousands, of people.

So cheer me on my friends, I am getting it done!

Watch for it on bookshelves near you...Someday.

Watch for it on bookshelves near you…Someday.

4 comments on “Words, Words, Words

  1. Keep up the good work Kate! You can do it! You’ve got a great story going there. You’re doing the right thing, tell that inner critic to take a vacation until you’ve finished your goal. 🙂

  2. Ruth says:

    Go, Katie! Go, Katie! Go, Katie!

  3. 5,000 words on day four is awesome!!! Go Kate Go!!

Leave a Reply

